The Frontier Framework Family

Eight proposals built on one design, and how they differ on who checks, who can stop a model, and what states keep

The most common design for frontier-model regulation began as a California transparency law and now runs through two state laws that adopted it, a House discussion draft, an introduced House bill, an unpublished Senate draft, and two industry proposals. Every member shares the same skeleton: covered developers write and follow a safety framework, publish a report when they release a new model, and report critical safety incidents on a short clock. Catastrophic risk is typically defined by a casualty-or-damage threshold: more than 50 deaths or $1 billion from a single incident in SB 53, the FRONTIER Act, and Anthropic's text.

What changes from one version to the next is what is built on top of that skeleton. Read in order, the table shows three additions: someone outside the developer checking its claims, someone able to stop a model in an emergency, and, in the federal versions, preemption of exactly the state laws the design began as.

Side by side

In order of when each entered the debate. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

ProposalFormCoverageWho checksIncident clockWho can stop a modelPreemption
CA SB 53Sep 29, 2025State law, in forceLarge frontier developers above $500M in revenueNo one — developers describe their own risk management15 days; 24 hours if imminent harmNo oneState law
NY RAISEDec 19, 2025State law, in forceFrontier developers above $500M in revenueNo one — published safety and security protocols72 hoursNo oneState law
OpenAI BlueprintJun 2, 2026Industry blueprint (no text)Large frontier developers (thresholds not specified)Annual third-party audits, plus a mandatory CAISI evaluation before release that is advisory onlyRequired; clock not specifiedNo one — CAISI evaluates and recommends but cannot block, and a developer may ship if CAISI misses its deadlineSeeks it: codify SB 53, RAISE, and SB 315 federally, then preempt state frontier-safety laws; states keep youth protection and energy
GAAIAJun 4, 2026House discussion draft; its frontier title became the FRONTIER ActLarge frontier developers above $500M in revenueIndependent Verification Organizations, licensed by CAISI, audit developer frameworks15 days; 24 hours if imminentNo oneNarrow: state laws targeting model development only, sunsetting after three years
Illinois SB 315Jul 6, 2026State law, effective Jan 1, 2027Above 10^26 operations and $500M in revenueAnnual independent compliance audit from 2028; quarterly internal-use risk summaries to the state72 hours; 24 hours to law enforcement if lives are at riskNo oneState law; accepts a federal regime with equivalent incident reporting and audits as satisfying it
FRONTIER ActJul 23, 2026Introduced House bill (H.R. 9925)All developers above 10^26 operations; heavier tiers at $50M revenue + $1B AI spending, and at $5B + $10BAnnual compliance audit; for the largest tier, a federally licensed verifier judging every six months whether mitigation is adequate72 hours; 24 hours to law enforcement if imminentThe Commerce Secretary, by emergency order on a finding of imminent catastrophic risk (45-day provisional, 90-day renewable final), reviewable in D.C. District CourtPermanent, limited to frontier risk transparency, third-party auditing and verification, and incident reporting
Thune–KlobucharSep 11, 2026Unpublished Senate draft; stalledFrontier developers (thresholds not reported)Developers test their own models and present results to CommercePrompt notice of significant capability advances (incident clock not reported)A federal court, on Commerce's application, for a developer that fails its risk-management obligationsState catastrophic-risk laws; scope contested
Anthropic Draft BillOct 16, 2026Bill text drafted by Anthropic; no sponsorAll developers above 10^25 operations; large developers above $500M in AI revenue or $1B in AI spendingA registered independent evaluator every 180 days, with published reports; findings are advisory15 days; 24 hours if imminentThe D.C. District Court, on application by the head of Commerce, for 45 days at a time, if Commerce proves imminent risk through one of four named pathways and that nothing less restrictive would workDisclosure, third-party evaluation, and incident reporting, for every AI developer; void if the federal requirements fall
Form
What kind of instrument it is and where it stands; the date under each name is when it entered the debate
Coverage
Which developers and models the obligations reach
Who checks
Whether anyone outside the developer verifies its frameworks, reports, or models
Incident clock
Deadline for reporting a critical safety incident, and for one posing imminent risk to life
Who can stop a model
Whether anyone outside the developer can suspend or block a frontier model, and on what showing
Preemption
What the proposal does to state law on the same subjects

What the comparison shows

Related, but built differently

Cantwell

Same components — federal standards, independent audits, incident reporting — but the audit is a gate: no release until it confirms the standards are met. Opposes the preemption the federal members carry.

Newsom EO

California building the verification layer onto SB 53 itself: certified verifiers embedded in labs, independent verification of SB 53 filings, and a verified kill switch.

Kill Switch Act

Only the emergency brake, without the framework-and-report skeleton, and placed on whoever operates the model rather than whoever trained it.

AI Risk Management and Security Act

A different route to verification: instead of third-party evaluators, a federal board gets the model and its weights 45 days before release and sets binding standards — but cannot block a release.